







## **MEDIA RELEASE**

- Arya Singh notches maiden win in MRF F2000
- Viswas Vijayaraj tops MRF F1600 race

Chennai, December 16: Kolkata's Arya Singh finally delivered his maiden win in the MRF Formula 2000 category after a string of near misses to start his campaign in the fourth and final round of the MRF MMSC fmsci Indian National Car Racing Championship at the Madras International Circuit, here on Saturday on a bright note.

Also chalking his first win in the MRF Formula 1600 category that was run on a combined grid with the F2000 was Nellore's Viswas Vijayaraj after starting from P3.

Arya Singh, 22, made the best of a poor start by pole-sitter and championship leader Sandeep Kumar (Chennai) and jumped into the lead which he sustained with a brilliant drive. Arya did well to survive close attention from Jaden Rahman Pariat (Shillong) following a couple of laps behind the safety car which came into play after Bengaluru's Aditya Swaminathan spun at the Bridge Complex. Jaden finished a deserving second followed by veteran Chetan Korada (Chennai).

"I am super happy today. In the past, I missed a win many times for some reason or the other. Today, after going into the lead, I was determined to make it count for my first win in this category," said Arya Singh.

Meanwhile, Viswas Vijayaraj, in his first season in the MRF F1600, did well to grab the lead from a P3 start. He increased the gap lap by lap, showing good pace to emerge a deserving winner ahead of pole-sitter Aman Nagdev (Noida) and 16-year-old Veer Sheth (Mumbai). Championship leader Chetan Surineni (Bengaluru) came in fourth.

Earlier, Chennai's Ritesh Rai (Arka Motorsports) grabbed the pole position with a hot lap of 01minute, 50.754 seconds followed by Biren Pithawalla (Team N1 Racing) from Mumbai (01:51.042) and last year's champion, Coimbatore's Arjun Balu (Race Concepts) whose best lap was 01:51.680 in the qualifying session. Championship leader in this category, Gurunath Meiyappan (Race Concepts) missed the qualifying run due to other commitments and will start last on the grid in Sunday's Race-1.

Performance Racing's pair of Deepak Ravikumar (01:55.697) and fellow-Chennai driver, Akkineni Anand Prasad (01:55.939) filled the front row in the Indian Junior Touring Cars category. Anand Prasad leads Ravikumar by just three points in the championship standings.

Qualifying for pole position in the Super Stock category was Thrissur's Diljith TS (DTS Racing) clocking a top lap of 02:03.430 while Anirudha Arvind (Redline Racing) from Chennai will start tomorrow's Race-1 from P2.

Diljith (01:51.073) also qualified for pole position in the Formula LGB 1300 category ahead of Bengaluru's Navneet Bhurani (Momentum Motorsports) after putting in a best lap of 01:51.853.

The results (Provisional):

MRF F2000 (Race-1, 8 laps): 1. Arya Singh (Kolkata) (15mins 44.577secs); 2. Jaden

Rahman Pariat (Shillong) (15:44.783); 3. Chetan Korada (Chennai) (15:49.833).

MRF Formula 1600: 1. Viswas Vijayaraj (Nellore) (16:03.286); 2. Aman Nagdev (Noida) (16:03.550); 3. Veer Sheth (Mumbai) (16:04.975).

===

## For Media queries, please contact:

Anand Philar-+91-9483548185

David Bodapati-+91-9845569496